Waste Collection over the Christmas Period

Revised collection days for public holidays

Christmas and New Year 2020-21

Usual collection day Revised collection day

Thursday 24 December No change

Friday 25 December Monday 28 December

Monday 28 December Tuesday 29 December

Tuesday 29 December Wednesday 30 December

Wednesday 30 December Thursday 31 December

Thursday 31 December Saturday 2 January

Friday 1 January Monday 4 January

Monday 4 January Tuesday 5 January

Tuesday 5 January Wednesday 6 January

Wednesday 6 January Thursday 7 January

Thursday 7 January Friday 8 January

Friday 8 January Saturday 9 January

Monday 11 January Usual collections resume


Garden waste

collections over Christmas and New Year 2020-21 will not take place Friday 25 December 2020 – Friday 8 January 2021 (inclusive). Friday 8 January garden waste collections on Saturday 9 January. usual garden waste collections resume on Monday 11 January. Christmas trees: decoration-free real trees can be composted at home, taken to any recycling site, or garden waste subscribers can add them to their collection.

Recycling sites

See individual recycling sites or phone Somerset Direct on 0300 123 2224 for recycling site opening times. All sites are closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day as well as their usual scheduled closed days.

Post list