The Parish Council

Local Government Structure:

The county of Somerset consists of a non-metropolitan county administered by Somerset County Council, divided into four districts and two unitary authorities. The districts of Somerset are Somerset West and Taunton, South Somerset, Mendip and Sedgemoor. Somerset County Council is responsible for running services such as education, social services, libraries, main roads, public transport, policing and fire services, trading standards, waste disposal and strategic planning.

Sedgemoor is a low lying area of land in Somerset and has given its name to our local government district formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972. Sedgemoor District Council is responsible for local planning and building control, local roads, council housing, environmental health, markets and fairs, refuse collection and recycling, cemeteries and crematoria, leisure services, parks, and tourism.

The District of Sedgemoor is divided into 54 areas known as civil parishes, which are subnational entities forming the lowest unit of local government in England. Parishes arose from Church of England divisions, and were given their current powers and responsibilities by the Local Government Act 1894. The Local Government Act 1972 retained civil parishes in rural areas.


The Parish Council:

What do we do?

The Parish Councillors are elected by parishoners every 4 years and represent the people of this Community. The Parish Council evaluates local planning applications and liaises with the Sedgemoor District Council, Somerset County Council and local police on matters of crime, security, traffic, maintenance, repair, and improvement of highways, drainage, footpaths, public transport, and street cleaning. It are also responsible for the maintenance and repair of parish facilities and ensuring that the grass in public areas is cut at regular intervals.

Where are the meetings held?

Parish Council Meetings normally take place in the Village Hall on the first Monday of each month  (except for August) at 7.00pm.   These meetings are open to the public and you are most welcome to attend.  There is an opportunity at the beginning of each meeting (during public speaking time) where topics/concerns can be raised. 

Who are the Parish Councillors for Pawlett & Stretcholt?

Details of the Councillors, Draft Minutes and Agendas  and Financial Information are displayed on this website. In addition councillor contact details,minutes from the previous meeting and the agenda for the next meeting are displayed on the Council Notice Board at the Old Main Road /  Gaunts Road junction in Pawlett and on the Notice Board on Red Lane, Stretcholt (near the junction of Sloway Lane and Stretcholt Lane).    

Please do not hesitate to contact any Councillor if you feel they could help you with an enquiry.